Sink… and other four letter words.

Sadly Our dear Eileen has hit a bit of a rough patch. After chatting with Alan, our visionary team leader, he had the following to say:

“So I chatted to a yacht structural engineer yesterday. I’ve been getting worrying signals from Dangerous Dave (our commander whilst at sea), so decided to get a pro to have a good look at Eileen Taigh.

He spent the day going over her with a fine-tooth comb, and the news was ok. Worst case scenario is the keel falls off. Not a grrrreat result, obviously, but that’s why we have life-jackets. At least I can make my money back on those things…

He said he can fix it, which is nice, but there’s no chance it will be ready by 15 January.

So we have 2 options:

  1. We pay up our life insurance, update our wills and go for it!
  2. We go home, kick the cat, put a towel on our head and cry ourselves to sleep.


I must be honest, I’m veering to Option 2. I spent a large chunk of this week swearing internally (and occasionally externally), man oh man am I bleak. I am so keen for this race it is heartbreaking to think we may have to pull out.”

 

SO DEAR FRIENDS, WHAT DO YOU THINK??? Vote in the poll below and tell us what you think we should do:


Leave a comment